Monday, August 27, 2007

The awesome Crabby McSlacker was my official First Commenter! Hooray! I feel like I should announce some kind of grand prize, but instead I’ll just explain what Krav Maga is.

It’s basically a martial art, but it’s a modern one developed for the Israeli army and then adapted for general civilian fitness use. While good form is obviously important- how else can do it without hurting yourself, and with the most force- it isn’t like a Karate class where you have to learn lots of complicated combinations slowly, so that by the time you could hurt someone you’d have acquired some discipline. In Krav, I think they’re assuming you have some discipline, because you are an adult who is functional in society, or functional enough to be walking around free and able to afford Krav classes. Basically, in Krav Maga classes we just learn to kick some ass.

I like it for two reasons, and the top one isn’t actually the workout. I really feel strongly that every woman should be able to defend herself. I wish we lived in a world where the need would never arise, but we don’t. Knowledge of self-defense makes you more confident and helps you avoid situations where you would be in danger, and it helps you to respond effectively to any threats that arise (instead of freezing, a common instinctive reaction to threat). Most universities offer self-defense programs, and your local police community liaison might be able to refer you to a seminar or something in your area- check it out. If you can't find one you like that way, or by googling, try calling a sexual assault center- they probably know of some resources. You can learn a lot in just a one-afternoon seminar, if that's what it's aimed at, there's no need to be a black belt.

Second, Krav Maga is a great workout. Every week I feel like I’m gonna die by the end, and then they make us do push-ups. At the beginning of class you have to run around, or play the knee touching game (if you can touch your opponent’s knees, they must do three push-ups, and vice versa) or something. Then you start working on more specific skills, like punching or kicking, and you keep doing for a really long time. It’s exhausting and exhilarating. Then you move around while doing whatever it was you were learning. Repeat. Do pushups and sit-ups. Go home and keel over on the couch. It’s great!

Also, I really like the place I go to take the class- it’s tiny, and cheap, and everyone is very friendly and at a variety of skill levels. Also, no matter what their skill level, they are all working flat out during the class, so they are all dripping with sweat. I hate working out next to a bunch of perfect model-esque blondes who never seem to sweat. I realize they are equally likely to be nice people, it’s just that it makes me self-conscious, and I’d rather concentrate on what I am doing than who I am doing it with and how it is making me look.

3 comments:

Crabby McSlacker said...

Wow, thank you! Both for the kind linkage and for the great explanation of Krav Maga. It's even scarier than it sounded!

I also loved the idea of "knee touching games" until you explained them more thoroughly. Pushups! What kind of touchy feely game ends in pushups!

Touchy-feely Kick-ass Krav Maga games, I guess.

Hedgehog said...

crabby, you could play without the pushups... it's actually kind of perfect, because you and your partner/opponent end up circling sideways around each other, half-squatting and leaning forward with your hands out, and it's really all very crab-like.

Anonymous said...

Good discription,
I'm headed to class right now.
In an hour I'll be totally soaked
but enjoying every minute of it.